FPM Board meeting update

01 September 2023

This is a report following the FPM Board meeting held on 23 July.


AMC/MCNZ accreditation – trainee representation on faculty committees
In line with Australian Medical Council (AMC)/Medical Council of New Zealand (MCNZ) accreditation requirements to ensure trainee representation across governance levels of the college, the faculty welcomes trainee representative Dr Richard Arnold on the Training and Assessment Executive Committee and Dr Thomas Chalk on the Learning and Development Committee.

Global Development Committee
Dr Ted Hughes, from New Zealand, has been appointed as the new FPM representative on the Global Development Committee.


Congratulations have been extended to the following recipients of awards in the 2023 King’s Birthday Honours.

Member (AM) In the General Division
Dr James Bradley, AM, FANZCA, FFPMANZCA, Qld. For significant service to medicine in the field of anaesthetics.
Dr Matthew Crawford, AM, FANZCA FCICM FFPMANZCA NSW. For significant service to medicine, particularly chronic and complex pain management.

Medal (OAM) In the General Division 
Dr Frank Meumann, OAM, awarded a Medal in the General Division in recognition of his services in the field of medicine.

MBS taskforce review
FPM continues to work with the Medicare Benefits Schedule (MBS) leadership team  and has been invited to redraft recommendations 26 and 27 for consideration. 


National Pain Management Health Practitioner Education Strategy 
The Federal Government has approved the faculty’s National Pain Management Health Practitioner Strategy and preparations are under way to launch this later in the year.


Commemoration of the faculty’s 25-year milestone
The 2023 FPM Spring Meeting will be held at the Pullman Hotel in Adelaide, with registration now open and the program available on the website. Fellows are encouraged to book early. 

In addition to the welcome drinks on Friday night, the conference dinner will be held at Penfolds Magill Estate on Saturday 7 October. The dinner will be an opportunity to mark the 25-year anniversary of the faculty and introduce a collection of commemorative wine glasses. To order, please visit the MON VERRE website and purchase from the FPM ANZCA 25-year Anniversary Collection

Dr Wei Chung Tong has been approved as the convenor for the 2024 Spring Meeting to be held in New Zealand, with the exact location yet to be determined.

2024 Emerging Leader's Conference
Professor Michael Veltman (WA) will be the board member-in-residence for the 2024 Emerging Leaders Conference that is to be held at Cedar Creek Lodges, Mount Tamborine, Queensland, from Tuesday 30 April to Thursday 2 May 2024.


Australian Pain Solutions Research Alliance
The national steering group undertaking the establishment of the Australian Pain Solutions Research Alliance has now completed the process of developing a constitution and will shortly be forming the inaugural board and registering the alliance as an independent legal entity. It is hoped that the alliance will foster collaborations in pain research and help to drive the prioritisation of pain as a national health priority.

FPM Research Network
To facilitate optimal communication and collaboration between ANZCA and FPM research committees, the faculty welcomes the chair of the ANZCA Research Committee as a member of the FPM Research Committee, and the deputy chair of the FPM Research Committee as a member of the FPM Network Leadership Group.

Lead editor APMSE
The faculty is pleased to announce Dr Gavin Pattullo as the new lead editor for the 6th edition of Acute Pain Management: Scientific Evidence.
APMSE is an internationally recognised publication covering a wide range of clinical topics, combining a review of the best available evidence for acute pain management, with new editions published every five years.

Professional affairs

Continuing Professional Development
The emergency response criteria have been changed, which will allow the faculty to develop other FPM relevant activities.

Professional documents

The board has endorsed the “Evidence-Based Clinical Practice Guideline for Deprescribing Opioid Analgesics”, recommending that a plain language version or practical summary page be developed to ensure its broad appeal and use.

FPM by-laws
The FPM Board has approved changes to:

  • By-law 15: Regional and national committees of the faculty to increase trainee representation across faculty committees.
  • By-law 3: Fellowship of the faculty:
  • To accept the fellowship of the Faculty of Public Health Medicine, Royal Australasian College of Physicians, as a primary specialist qualification that is suitable for admission to fellowship of the Faculty of Pain Medicine; and
  •  Accept the fellowship of the New Zealand College of Musculoskeletal Medicine as a primary medical specialty that is acceptable to the board under by-law 3.1.

2024 FPM Board Meeting Dates

2024 FPM Board meeting dates:
Sunday 18 February
Sunday 14 April
Sunday 5 May (annual business meeting and New Board Meeting)
Sunday 21 July
Spring meeting: (dates TBC)
Saturday 7 December


Last updated 13:53 8.09.2023