Academic enhancement grant

The academic enhancement grant aims to foster the advancement of the academic disciplines of anaesthesia and/or pain medicine.

Support is provided for proposals encompassing broad areas of research. Details of initial area(s) of investigation need to be outlined. The grant aims to enhance foci of research activity.


Applicants must have university status at the level of professor, associate professor, clinical professor or clinical associate professor but do not have to have administrative responsibility for a clinical department. 

All chief investigators must be a fellow of ANZCA or FPM.

Research foci eligible for support include:

  • A new chair.
  • An existing chair with new incumbent; an existing chair pursuing a new research direction.
  • A second chair in an existing department.
  • A professor/associate professor (or clinical professor/clinical associate professor) who heads a research group.

The grant is awarded on the following criteria:

  • The research merit of the program.
  • The track record of the applicant(s) and their ability to carry out the proposed research.
  • The potential long-term benefits of the research program to academic endeavour of the research group and the specialty, including its ability to promote fellows and trainees pursuing higher degrees.


The maximum amount available for an academic enhancement grant is $A100,000. 

Applicants for the Academic Enhancement Grant (AEG) will be given the option for the project component of their grant (if appropriate) to be considered and ranked for funding as a project grant, subject to project grant assessment and eligibility criteria, if unsuccessful for the AEG.


The grant round opens on 1 December 2023 and closes 5pm (AEDT) 2 April, 2024 (1 April being a public holiday). Before applying, please read the information on our apply for an ANZCA research grant page. 

The ANZCA Research Committee have made a number of amendments and additions to the grant application form.  Applicants are encouraged to carefully read the guidelines, noting the application form requirements.

Academic Enhancement Grant Application Form
Academic Enhancement Grant Guidelines

Past recipients

The following ANZCA and FPM fellows have been awarded academic enhancement grants:

2023:  Professor Robert Sanders (NSW)
2022:  Associate Professor Stefan Dieleman (NSW)
2021:  No grant awarded
2020:  Associate Professor Victoria Eley (Qld)
2019:  No grant awarded
2018:  Associate Professor Alicia Dennis (Vic)
2017:  Professor Eric Visser (WA)
2016:  Professor David Story (Vic)
2015:  Professor Britta Regli-von Ungern-Sternberg
2014:  Professor Philip Siddall
2013:  Professor Matthew Chan and Professor Michael Reade

Last updated 10:42 29.11.2023