Novice investigator grants

We're helping to secure the future of research in anaesthesia, pain, and perioperative medicine by mentoring and supporting novice investigators on their journey to becoming established researchers.

A major goal of the college and the foundation is to encourage and foster novice investigators, which is why a dedicated funding stream for trainees and fellows who wish to establish a career in research has been established.


The novice investigator(s) will be the chief investigator(s) of the grant application and will undertake most of the research personally, under the supervision of experienced colleagues. A novice is an investigator who:

  • May have been awarded previous grant funding as a principle investigator provided no single grant has exceeded $10,000.
  • Has not published more than five research papers in the five years prior to the year of application.
  • Does not have an experienced investigator as a co-investigator on the proposed grant.


We invite early application by novice investigators to apply for mentoring during the application process. Applications for mentoring must be received by 14 January each year.

Your mentor will assess your application and provide prompt feedback. The applicant must then resubmit his or her application to the college by the usual deadline. Late applications for either deadline will not be accepted. All mentoring provided to the applicant will be confidential and not available to the ANZCA Research Committee.


The maximum amount available for a novice investigator grant is $A20,000.


The grant round opens 1 December 2023 and closes 5pm (AEDT) 2 April 2024 (1 April being a public holiday).

Before applying, please read the information on our Apply for an ANZCA research grant page.

The ANZCA Research Committee have made a number of amendments and additions to the grant application form.  Applicants are encouraged to carefully read the guidelines, noting the application form requirements.

The novice investigator grant application form
The novice investigator grant guide

Past recipients

2024 recipients

  • Dr Elizabeth Forrest
  • Dr Saad Anis
  • Dr Anthony Eidan
  • Dr Alexander Clarke and Dr Nathaniel Hiscock

2023 recipients

  • Dr Fraser Morton

2022 recipients

  • Dr Catherine Ashes
  • Dr Alex Koh
  • Dr Anthony Hodge
  • Dr Caitlin Low
  • Dr Gunjeet Minhas

2020 recipients

  • Dr Steven McGuigan
  • Dr Michal Li
  • Dr Wais Sekandarzad

2019 recipients

  • Dr Katrina Pirie
  • Dr Courtney Thomas
  • Dr Daniel Ellyard

2018 recipients

  • Dr Sue Lawrence
  • Dr Viraj Siriwardana
  • Dr Vasanth Rao Kadam
  • Dr Ned Douglas
  • Dr Aihua Wu

Last updated 10:43 29.11.2023