Oral histories

Our oral history project captures the memories of people, places and events as told by important individuals within the specialties of anaesthesia and pain medicine.

These interviews provide unique insights into people’s involvement in key events in the history of the two specialties in Australia and New Zealand.

Caption TBC

Dr Michael Cooper Dr Michael Cooper is a senior anaesthetist at the Children’s Hospital in Westmead and St George Hospital Sydney. He is also adjunct professor of anaesthesiology at the School of Medicine and Health Sciences, University of Papua New Guinea and makes regular trips to Papua New Guinea. He has been actively involved in the World Federation of Societies of Anaesthesiologists and is currently chair of the paediatric committee.
Dr Alex Douglas This interview discusses extreme violence and personal experiences of post-traumatic stress disorder, and may trigger an anxiety response. Please consider this before viewing or sharing this content. Dr Alex Douglas is an anaesthetist, an intensivist, and an active member of the Australian Defence Force. Her deployment to Rwanda, early in her career, saw her awarded the prestigious Medal for Gallantry, but had many other consequences, both professional and personal. It may be a difficult interview to watch but it carries an important message for all healthcare professionals about the need to be mindful of their own - and their colleagues’ - mental health.
Dr David M Scott This interview discusses personal experiences of post-traumatic stress disorder, and may trigger an anxiety response. Please consider this before viewing or sharing this content. Associate Professor David M Scott is an anaesthetist and a reservist in the Royal Australian Air Force. He’s also the immediate past president of the Australian Society of Anaesthetists (ASA). He has had many deployments overseas, to Bougainville, the Solomon Islands, East Timor and Afghanistan. His role in the tsunami relief effort in Indonesia in 2004, saw him awarded a meritorious service citation by the NSW government but it also had a profound emotional effect on him. In this deeply personal interview, he discusses his military and civilian careers, his contributions to the ASA, and the importance of caring for your mental health and that of your colleagues.
Dr Peter Livingstone In 1992, the Faculty of Anaesthetists separated from the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons to form a College. This came about because of the commitment and dedication of the board members of the time, a group of people with the energy and enthusiasm to make it happen. Dr Peter Livingstone was the dean of the board of the faculty at the time, and therefore became the first president of the college of anaesthetists. He played a pivotal role in the journey of the college and he is interviewed here by the former president, Professor David A Scott.
Dr Felicity Hawker Dr Felicity Hawker trained in both anaesthesia and intensive care. She has contributed at every level of education and training in intensive care medicine, and served on numerous committees. She was the last dean of the Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine and the first dean of the Joint Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine, having been instrumental in bringing together these two separate training programs, a union which has ultimately to lead to the College of Intensive Care Medicine which formed in 2008. 
Professor Michael Cousins Professor Michael Cousins was the first dean of the Faculty of Pain Medicine when it formed in 1998. This remains the only faculty in the world to bring together five specialties into one training program. He subsequently served as the president of ANZCA from 2004-2006. We are honoured to be able to record his extensive contributions and the important role of the Faculty of Pain Medicine during the 25th year of ANZCA.
Professor Bill Runciman Professor Bill Runciman has made fundamental contributions to patient safety and quality research in Australia and internationally, and has been involved in the publication of more than 200 scientific papers and chapters. In 2008 Professor Runciman was awarded the Pugh Award of the Australian Society of Anaesthetists in recognition of his outstanding contribution to the science of anaesthesia, intensive care or related disciplines.
Dr Patricia Mackay Dr Patricia Mackay, OAM, made an outstanding contribution to the Australian community for more than 50 years with her work in the field of patient safety in anaesthesia and served as chair of the Victorian Consultative Council on Anaesthetic Mortality and Morbidity (VCCAMM) from 1991 until 2005. Dr Mackay received many accolades including the ANZCA Medal, the Australian Medical Association Women in Medicine Award, and a Medal of the Order of Australia in 2008.
Professor Tess Cramond Professor Tess Cramond held many significant positions, including dean of the Faculty of Anaesthetists, Royal Australasian College of Surgeons and president of the Australian Medical Association (AMA). She received many accolades, including the Gilbert Brown Prize, an order of the British Empire and an Officer of the Order of Australia, an Advance Australia Award, a Red Cross Long Service Award and the AMA Women in Medicine Award.
Professor Ross Holland Professor Ross Holland retired in 2013 from the Special Committee Investigating Deaths Under Anaesthesia (SCIDUA) having been a member since its inception, and was largely responsible for its establishment. This committee is acknowledged internationally as the most experienced body in the field. In 1992, he was awarded the Robert Orton Medal for his contribution to anaesthesia.
Dr Duncan Campbell Dr Duncan Campbell invented the Campbell ventilator in 1973, a ventilator that became extremely popular in Australia and New Zealand. In 2011, he was awarded the Robert Orton Medal for his contribution to anaesthesia.
Dr Nerida Dilworth Dr Nerida Dilworth devoted her career to establishing outstanding paediatric anaesthesia in Western Australia, ensuring the reputation of Princess Margaret Hospital as a leading children’s hospital. She was a tireless contributor to the College and received many awards including a Member of the Order of Australia and the inaugural Australian Society of Anaesthetists (ASA) Medal for significant contributions to anaesthesia. The Western Australian branch of the ASA awards a registrar prize annually in her name.
Dr John Williamson Dr John Williamson was a country GP in far north Queensland before becoming a specialist in anaesthesia and intensive care. As a specialist he became involved with specialists from many disciplines in the area of marine envenomation and he’s been responsible for the definitive textbook on the subject Venomous and Poisonous Marine Creatures. An interest in hyperbaric medicine lead to a career change and a move to Adelaide. In Adelaide he became an associate professor and the director of the Diving and Hyperbaric Medicine Unit. He made important contributions to the Australian Patient Safety Foundation and to the anaesthesia incident monitoring service.
Dr Di Khursandi and Dr Genevieve Goulding In this video, two founding members of the Welfare of Anaesthetists Special Interest Group - Dr Di Khursandi and Dr Genevieve Goulding - talk to Dr Christine Ball.
Dr Geoffrey Kaye The Geoffrey Kaye Museum of Anaesthetic History in Melbourne is one of the largest and most diverse collections of its type in the world. It showcases more than 170 years of advances in anaesthesia and pain medicine through a combination of physical and online exhibitions. The original collection was bequeathed to what is now the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists (ANZCA) in 1956 by Melbourne anaesthetist Dr Geoffrey Kaye. In this video, Dr Kaye talks to Dr John Paull about practicing anaesthesia in the 1920s and '30s.

Last updated 09:08 30.06.2020