Rural generalist anaesthesia training sites

Training time towards the Rural Generalist Anaesthesia training must be completed at an accredited site.

Accreditation processes and standards for training sites to deliver RGA training are currently being revised, however in the interim, all training sites currently accredited to deliver JCCA training have been automatically accredited to deliver the RGA training until the end of 2024. The extension of accreditation remains subject to posts continuing to meet their required levels and quality of supervision, reporting and support.

The standards for RGA accreditation can be found in the RGA Accreditation Handbook.

Applying for accreditation

We are accepting expressions of interest from new training sites. Please contact us.

Find an RGA-accredited training site

The accredited hospitals are in the list below. The colleges do not organise the training posts for trainees. The trainee can contact the hospital directly to see if they are offering a training post at the time required.

New South Wales


Head of Department

Armidale and New England District Hospital

Bathurst Hospital

Dr Robert Savage

Belmont Hospital 

Coffs Harbour District Hospital

Dr. David Gillespie

Dubbo Base Hospital

Dr. Namrata Singh

Griffith Base Hospital

Lismore Base Hospital

Dr. Melissa Goldberg

Maitland Hospital

Dr Ajit Sivasankaran

Manning Base Hospital

Dr Johnson Symon

Nowra Private Hospital 

Orange Base Hospital

Dr Ian Carter

Prince of Wales Hospital

Dr Robert Turner

Shoalhaven Memorial District Hospital

Dr Caroline McCombie

Tamworth Rural Referral Hospital

Dr Simon Ford

The Tweed Hospital

Dr Paul Murphy

Wagga Wagga Base Hospital

Dr. Paul Nicholas

Northern Territory



Head of Department

Alice Springs Hospital

Dr. Jacob Koshy

Royal Darwin Hospital

Dr. Brian Spain



Head of Department

Bundaberg General Hospital

Dr. Piotr Konopka and
Dr Victor Birioukov

Caboolture Hospital

Dr Ken Eastern

Cairns Base Hospital 

Dr. James Sartain

Hervey Bay Hospital (Part Of Fraser Coast Health Service) 

Dr. Peter Harvey

Ipswich Hospital

Dr. Bipphy Kath

Logan Hospital

Dr. Anthony Lentz

Mackay Base Hospital

Dr. Daniel Bartlett

Maryborough Hospital (Part Of Fraser Coast Health Service)

Mt Isa Hospital

Dr Desire Banda

Nambour General Hospital

Dr Daniel Holmes

Redcliffe Hospital

Redland Hospital

Dr. Anthony Fajumi

Rockhampton Hospital

Dr. Miriam Tohill

Sunshine Coast University Hospital

Dr Paul Wigan

Toowoomba Base Hospital

Dr James Beit

Townsville University Hospital

Dr. Mark Walsh

South Australia


Head of Department

Flinders Medical Centre

Dr. Mark Markou

Lyell McEwin Health Service

Dr. Richard Church

Modbury Hospital

Dr. Richard Church

Mount Gambier and District Health Service

Dr. Jayaraman Thiagarajan

Queen Elizabeth Hospital

Assoc Prof. Roelof Van Wijk

Royal Adelaide Hospital

Dr. James Fowlie

Whyalla Hospital and Health Service

Dr Peter Gilchrist



Head of Department

Launceston General Hospital

Dr. Maurice Vialle

North West Regional Hospital

Dr Eric Robinson

Royal Hobart Hospital

Clinical Assoc Prof. Marcus Skinner
and Dr. Ruth Matters



Head of Department

Victorian Rural Rotations Program

Greg Coates

Albury Wodonga Health

Dr Angus Mitchell

Ballarat Hospital

Dr. Gregory Henderson

Bendigo Health Care Group (Satellite post: Echuca Regional Health, 3x2 weeks)

Dr. John Edington

Central Gippsland Health Service

Dr Henry Wassermann

Goulburn Valley Health, Shepparton

Dr Helen Roberts

Hamilton Base Hospital (when first accredited combined post with Ballarat Base Hospital)

Latrobe Regional Hospital (Have taken two concurrent registrars in recent years)

Mildura Base Hospital

Dr. Alison Walker

North East Health / Wangaratta Base Hospital

Dr. Jade Radnor

Northern Hospital (Health)
- Satellite posts:
* Kilmore and District Health
* Ararat Hospital

Dr. Jacobus Geertsema

University Hospital of Geelong
·  Barwon Health satellite posts:
- Hamilton Base Hospital – 2022 registrar Hamilton Base Hospital only for Terms 3 4.
- Portland District Hospital (currently inactive)

Dr Dean Dimovski

Western Health Service: Footscray Hospital, Sunshine Hospital (incorporating Joan Kirner Women's & Children's), The Williamstown Hospital, Sunbury Day Hospital and Bacchus Marsh & Melton District Hospital

Dr. Richard Horton

West Gippsland Health Service

Dr Bill Fraser

Western Australia


Head of Department

Bunbury Hospital

Dr Iain Gilmore

Fiona Stanley Hospital

Dr Chris Cokis

Joondalup Health Campus

Prof Michael Veltman

Last updated 11:28 18.04.2024