Professional Affairs Executive Committee

The Professional Affairs Executive Committee (PAEC) reports to ANZCA Council and its membership is reflective of our fellows' practice diversity in Australia and New Zealand. Members represent public and private practitioners, as well as those working in urban, regional, rural and remote areas, and in pain medicine.

PAEC works on initiatives that give a voice to the fellowship and encourage collaboration and connection between college committees and all functions of the college, through the open exchange of ideas, the support for and engagement with strategic projects (equity, environmental sustainability and doctors health and wellbeing) and the sharing of information to continually enhance the delivery of services to fellows, trainees and specialist international medical graduates.
As an executive committee, PAEC has a role in decision making, setting direction and delivery on the strategic priorities of the college as outlined in the Strategic Plan 2023-2025.  

PAEC oversees the following:

Committee meeting calendar

Committee members

Title Name Region
Chair Dr Scott Ma SA
Deputy chair Dr Tanya Selak NSW
Chair, ANZCA and FPM CPD Committee (or nominee) Dr Debra Devonshire Vic
Chair, Safety and Quality Committee (or nominee) A/Prof Joanna Sutherland NSW
Member, New Fellow Councillor Dr Adam Levin Vic
Member, Director of Professional Affairs, Policy Dr David A Scott Vic
Member, Director of Professional Affairs, Policy Dr Michelle Mulligan NSW
Member, community representative Ms Dorothy McLaren Vic
Member, education representative Dr Benn Lancman Vic
Member, regional representative Dr Poranee Buttery Vic
Member Dr Michelle Castro NSW
Member, Councillor Dr Sarah Nicolson NZ
Member, FPM represenative Assoc Prof Susan Lord NSW
Executive Director, Fellowship Affairs Ms Jan Sharrock Vic
Executive Director, Policy and Communications Ms Clea Hincks Vic
Executive Director, Education and Research Mr Robert O'Brien Vic
ANZCA President (ex officio) Prof David Story Vic
Committee support (non - member) Vic

ANZCA and FPM CPD Committee

The ANZCA and FPM Continuing Professional Development Committee assesses and evaluates the continuing professional development program and professional practice review, reporting and making recommendations to council. The committee also monitors implementation of recommendations to council in...

Find out more

Gender Equity Sub-committee

We strongly endorse gender equity because of its ethical, social, and economic benefits. The GESC reports its activities and initiatives to the Professional Affairs Executive Committee (PAEC).

Find out more

Global Development Committee

The Global Development Committee oversees ANZCA's overseas aid initiatives and reports to the Professional Affairs Executive Committee and hence to Council. In 2010, this committee was formalised from the Overseas Working Group first established in 2009.

Find out more

Indigenous Health Committee

The Indigenous Health Committee (IHC) is responsible for the college's portfolios in Indigenous health in Australia and New Zealand.

Find out more

Environmental Sustainability Network Executive

The purpose of the ESN is “to advocate, collaborate and promote initiatives and projects related to environmental sustainability within anaesthesia, perioperative and pain medicine”.

Find out more
Last updated 13:59 11.06.2024